Cubase 7 - VST Window Container in 64-bit Mode.

SyDiko

Not sure if anyone has run into this problem, but apparently while using Cubase 7 (64-bit) some 3rd party VSTs don't size properly in their window container(s). Also, the window re-size property is locked, so you can't even manually adjust the container. From programming experience, I know that some containers can behave differently between 32-bit and 64-bit applications; so I went ahead and installed the 32-bit version of Cubase. Thankfully, my hunch was correct, and the 32-bit version actually re-sized the VST containers properly.

This isn't an issue for me as of yet, because I'm still learning Cubase, but I would like to utilize the 64-bit application in the future. With that, does anyone know of this issue and are there any 3rd party fixes for it?

If not, I'm hoping this is on Steinberg's radar and they offer a fix in an update soon.

Last edited:
I've had some odd graphics issues with Cubase 64bit. It seems that updates from the VSTs and Plugins has fixed a lot of them more than Steinberg/Cubase. All I can suggest is to make sure you have all the latest updates for your VSTs/Plugins etc. Its taken a while for companies to catch up with 64bit.

I've had some odd graphics issues with Cubase 64bit. It seems that updates from the VSTs and Plugins has fixed a lot of them more than Steinberg/Cubase. All I can suggest is to make sure you have all the latest updates for your VSTs/Plugins etc. Its taken a while for companies to catch up with 64bit.

Yeah the 64-bit version seems to be a bit buggier than its 32-bit counterpart - its almost like a different program running the same GUI.

I didn't even think to check for updates to the VSTs themselves, for some reason I thought Cubase was in total control of its own container sizing.

Hello SyDiko,