Crying Inside - would really appreciate some feedback

Humbucker

The singer is a vocal student of my wife's, she is only 15 and this is her first every recording. I played all the instruments(apart from the drums, my wife programmed those) and did all the production/mixing. I'm pretty happy with the mix but I feel the piano is getting a little buried, and perhaps the drums are lacking in some bottom end. I would love to hear your thoughts, the girl is coming tomorrow and we are gonna present her with the finished song on CD :) I did a touch of 'mastering'(I don't like calling it that as what I do doesn't really qualify, I prefer to term it as 'polishing') with some slight EQing, some compression and some limiting. I am gonna be taking out that 'pop' sound at the end too. All comments/opinions very welcome!

http://www.lightningmp3.com/live/file.php?fid=7663

Piano does seem a bit burried. Your right, not enough bottom end on the drums. The bass kick is pretty much absent in my system. Drums overall could be treated a little better, other than that they do sound pretty good (fill-wise etc.). I cant put my finger on whats lacking with the bass guitar soundwise...a little bit more boom maybe?
Did she write this song as well? She's got a great voice, thats for sure.

Mike

Nightfire said:
Piano does seem a bit burried. Your right, not enough bottom end on the drums. The bass kick is pretty much absent in my system. Drums overall could be treated a little better, other than that they do sound pretty good (fill-wise etc.). I cant put my finger on whats lacking with the bass guitar soundwise...a little bit more boom maybe?
Did she write this song as well? She's got a great voice, thats for sure.

Mike

Thanks for your comments :)