Crossfield Recording Technology of an Akai Model M9

Stanbery

Howdy!

I picked up a perfect working condition Akai Model M9 at Goodwill the other day for $30. I've done some recordings on it. Mostly just 2-track stereo which is actually what brings up my question.

Everywhere I've read I have been told that it's a 4-track machine. It has has a big circular knob on the front that I can switch between stereo (is when the knob is in the middle), 1-4 (is when the knob is tilted down), and 2-3 (is when the knob is tilted up). I'm new to analog recording and recording in general. I'm wondering how to properly use the Crossfield Technology to record separate tracks at one time? There is a sound on sound button which I know how to make overdubs with but I really would like to know how to mix down just one of the tracks with one instrument on it when I do finally want to master something.

Thanks!!!

-Dylan

It's going to be a stereo machine, probably from the mid 1960s. It's 4 tracks because you can flip the reels over like a cassette (2 tracks * 2 sides = 4 track stereo). You can't play all 4 at once.

What the machine will be able to do is either record over an existing track without erasing it, so allowing you to combine the two (Vortexion machines did this), or more likely, it can play back the left track while recording on the right. It probably has the ability to copy the left channel to the right while mixing in the new material, and vice-versa but it may require a special add-on, and it may not be quite in sync.

This kind of machine was intended for consumer use, playing back pre-recorded tapes, mostly. While it does provide basic support for overdubbing, you wouldn't really want to work that way unless your aim is to recreate The Brondesbury Tapes by Giles, Giles and Fripp or Agincourt something.

Thanks jpmorris for the information. That's everything I needed to know. I guess my hunt will continue for a true 4 track machine. Thanks again.