Critque Please

r4m

What do you guys hear that I could improve my mixing and mastering.
I am kinda new to home recording. I use a Zoom MRS1044. And I upload
to n-track for mixing. Then I reload back to my Zoom for mastering.
I just use a mastering preset from my recorder. But now I am experimenting
with some compression and eq with some free plugins in n-track. This song
that I am posting, I used a preset from my Zoom.
Thanks for comments! You can be brutal with me. I'm a big boy!!

Click Here Please

Bill

Dang! I think this is very good.
How did you do the drums? The 1044 only does two tracks at a time so I had trouble recording drums with mine.

Oh and nice guitar work my friend.

EdWonbass said:
Dang! I think this is very good.
How did you do the drums? The 1044 only does two tracks at a time so I had trouble recording drums with mine.

Oh and nice guitar work my friend.

Thanks EdWonbass! I did this as a collab. I didn't do the drum mix. It is an
acoustic kit though. The drummer did the drum mix.

I think the mix or mastering needs something but I'm not sure what.

Wow... very good. Nice guitar work. I wish I could help you with the mix but I'm having enough problems with my own mixes. Hey! Wanna mix mine? hahahaha

The drums are not very big but oh well. The guitars sound boxy and narrow with no real low end or fullness to them. The rythym guitar especially is not holding it's own in the mix.

Try posting a version before your "mastering" and adjusting your mix first.
There's a lot not quite right but it's hard to know what is fixable with the after effects added.

...sigh...another instrumental huh?

7string said:
Wow... very good. Nice guitar work. I wish I could help you with the mix but I'm having enough problems with my own mixes. Hey! Wanna mix mine? hahahaha

Ha! Ha! Thanks 7 string!

jake-owa said: