Country/Rock tune - what's up with this mix?!

Mercuri

Ok, everybody... This is my first time on the board and I've just recently started getting into recording at home. I've seen a heckuva lot of talent here and I thought, "cool, this is something I should really get involved in!!"

I "finished" my first semi-demo recording a few days ago for my 16-year-old sister who's into country/pop. She wrote a country rock tune and I arranged it on my home computer with Sonar. The only parts I could make real are the guitars - everything else is just samples. She calls it "Baby, Goodbye".

It's still very preliminary, but I would love to hear criticism on it. (Positive, negative, either way :p ) It's on a fast server so the download should be over in a jiffy:

Anyways, I'm not sure what it is... But something is totally off with the mix. No punch/life to it. I go "ergh" when I listen to it. Maybe it's the midi drums? Volumes wrong? I'm curious as to what my fellow musicians think.

P.S. And yes, I know the piano instrumental sucks cuz I jammed it in one take to get it over and done with. "SEMI"-demo, like I said. ;)

For one, it sounds like you boosted the highs WAY too much....... mix clarity doesn't come from boosting highs, it comes from proper tracking and mixing!

The bass is thin and empty and isn't working with the drums to reinforce the low end - which is repsonsible for a lot of the "power" a song contains.

The drums sound pretty plastic and tend to get buried in parts...

The guitars are thin and overcompressed-sounding..... they are also too far back in the mix.

Piano has the same problem as the guitars........

You also need to give each instrument its own sonic "space" to work in - giving the mix depth, clarity and "air"........

Stick around... you'll learn a lot here....!

Cheers,

Bruce

Da muziq

Hey Bluebear... Believe it or not, I'm ecstatic that you had something to say about everything that needed fixing. Now I know it can be saved. ;)