cool edit/nr

leobluesy

Hello
Ive been using cool edit for a couple of years at home and am happy with the results... but I find that as soon as I use the hiss reduction,, even the light hiss preset....it gives a nasty metalic chorus sound to the remaining audio. Im just using the presets for this. I try hard not to use any noise reduction for this reason but sometimes its needed. Any ideas what Im doing wrong. Computer is no frills basic stuff.
Thankssssss

It's many years (and many versions of Audition) since I've used Cool Edit but a couple of tips I seem to recall.

First, I always had better results using "Noise Reduction" rather than "Hiss Reduction" even if I perceived my problem to be hiss.

Second, results tend to be better doing several light passes rather than trying to fix the noise problem all in one go. Capture your noise sample in the normal way but take the "slider" down fairly low and process. Capture another noise sample and do another light process...and maybe repeat again.

The other thing to play with is the FFT size (from memory, Cool Edit still allowed you to adjust this). A high FFT number gives a bigger HF sample but also results in more possibility of that echoey sound you mention. The balance of FFT size and amount of reduction in a single pass is one you can play with--i.e. high FFT, light reduction, lower FFT more reduction but it's a matter of experimenting.

As always though, noise reduction is a destructive process. It's always better to try and get rid of your hiss at source rather than process later.

Bob

Hello Bob
Thanks for your reply.
I use cool edit purely for recording my own songs....usually up to 12 tracks.
Most of the cleaning up I do by hand.... between sounds..and that is fine as I just silence those parts.