Controlling the low lows ..?

Ok - i'm a novice, so bear with me (and my terminology probably) here.

I've noticed something lately with my mixes. When I'm monitoring on my monitoring set-up, the low end is nice and wide and everything, but not overpowering. When i pull up a track from a commercial CD on that set up, its about the same (obviously it sounds better - but what i mean is the the response or power is about the same)

then, when i'm listening to the same songs on my 100 watt home entertainment system turned UP, the LOW low end is super rumbly to the point of shaking things that are loose and whatnot.

Except Sigur Ros, nothing else in my commercial CD collection does this.

Am i just needing to roll off at a certain frequency? I've noticed that the rumble seems to usually come from my DI'd bass, not my Roland V-drum kick.

Also - its not an issue that takes away from anything else in the mix. Its just something that moves the room in consumer systems, and it just annoys me.

any suggestions or explanations are appreciated.

I usually roll off everything < 20Hz. That's where the inaudible "rumble" is. Can't hear it (which is why they sounded the same) but you can feel it when the volume is turned up.

I'd try that first. Maybe even < 40Hz. Experiment. :)

Ok - i'm a novice, so bear with me (and my terminology probably) here.

I've noticed something lately with my mixes. When I'm monitoring on my monitoring set-up, the low end is nice and wide and everything, but not overpowering. When i pull up a track from a commercial CD on that set up, its about the same (obviously it sounds better - but what i mean is the the response or power is about the same)

then, when i'm listening to the same songs on my 100 watt home entertainment system turned UP, the LOW low end is super rumbly to the point of shaking things that are loose and whatnot.

Except Sigur Ros, nothing else in my commercial CD collection does this.