connection question

johntheson

Greetings,
I have been playing music for 40 years but know nothing about recording with computers. I also build computers, so I know I have the proper equipment there(except pro sound card). I want to eventuall y purchase all the nice stuff I'm going to need but I want to get started first to make sure I'm going to stick with it all the way. I now have a Martin HD 28 with an LR Baggs passive I Beam pickup that I run through an LR Baggs Para DI pre amp that I have been plugging into my SB Live through the line in and reacording my rythum on track 1(Sonar XL 2.0), and then playing my riffs on acoutic(same setup)on track 2. After mixdown this is coming out very exceptable for a start. I tried plugging in my Les Paul directly in my line in, and it's so distorted, no matter what I've done so far; that it's not worth keeping the track. I am looking at a Behringer eurotrack mixer(mx1604a) because it was suggested that I run things first into a mixer and then into my sound card. I know I will get a pro soung card after I'm sure I'm with it for the long haul, but can I make this thing work just to get started in this. I've also got a Shure SM 57 that I just got, and plan to use it ti record my amp with the Les Paul. Before I pulled the trigger on the Behringer mixer, I called and asked a few questions, and the guy told me that I couldn't plug the mixer into my sound card without a right and left RCA connection. Can this setup (mixer) be used with an adapter with my soundcard, just to use until I see that I'm in for the haul; or what do I need to get started with using the stuff that I already have? Thanks alot folks.
John Sr.

The Short Answer

Yes,
You can use the behringer mixer with adapters.
Having said that, If it were me ,having made it 9 years into the "studio-thing", I wouldn't spend the money on the Behringer mixer unless it was under $100.