Connecting monitor speakers

davejohno

Can some please help me with information on optical outputs. I have a Creative 0404 USB interface and I just got some Behringer MS20 monitor speakers. I've never used optical audio outputs before and not sure how they work, can I just plug an optical cable from the optical out in the USB interface to the optical in on the speakers? or do I use the analog output?

Thanks

Can some please help me with information on optical outputs. I have a Creative 0404 USB interface and I just got some Behringer MS20 monitor speakers. I've never used optical audio outputs before and not sure how they work, can I just plug an optical cable from the optical out in the USB interface to the optical in on the speakers? or do I use the analog output?

I've been looking around for an image of the I/O section and can't find anything that works. Usually with S/PDIF inputs (I assume that's what you mean by "optical) you'll go from the S/PDIF out on the interface to the left monitor, then out of the left monitor and into the right monitor. You'd then assign your monitor outs to the S/PDIF L & R in your software. I've got my JBL's hooked up exactly that way (and analog).

Frank

Images of interface and speakers below. Like I said I've never used this before so forgive my ignorance. Can I just plug the cable from the optical out (Bottom right on the interface)
1041040.jpg

to the Optical in on the speaker and switch the speaker to optical?

MS20_P0274_Panel_XL.jpg

or the S/PDIF on the interface? I've read that manual and it doesn't really help me. I've fiddle with the output settings but still no sound.

Thanks

Taking a second look at your speaker, yup, you should be able to run an optical cable to your monitor from the 0404.

If you're using the Patchmix application, set your output to the spdif, also look under Options to be sure you have optical set, though i think it doesn't matter for outputs.

Attachments

• EMUPatchMixOuts.jpg