Connecting an Art Studio MP

Jerad

I've never used my Art Studio MP before, and I want to hook it up to a Zoom R8 recorder. I'm going to use it for an XLR microphone. For the input jack, I'll hook in the XLR mic cable. In the output jack, do I have to use the XLR jack or can I use the 1/4" jack? I don't know if using an XLR in and 1/4" is good, bad, or indifferent.

I've never used my Art Studio MP before, and I want to hook it up to a Zoom R8 recorder. I'm going to use it for an XLR microphone. For the input jack, I'll hook in the XLR mic cable. In the output jack, do I have to use the XLR jack or can I use the 1/4" jack? I don't know if using an XLR in and 1/4" is good, bad, or indifferent.

The spec for the R8 appears to give a maximum line (the one you want) input of a paltry +4dBu (well they use the achaic dB"m") . If this is indeed the max headroom it is pitifully inadequate for the Art since that chucks out a massive+28dBu!

Since the Art is a "tube" pre you will want to work it pretty hard to get the sound and so you might need an attenuator twixt Art and R8.
At its most basic this is just two resistors but you might also think about a pan pot?

Dave.

Indeed, but despite my best efforts I cannot see where it is in the signal chain. Shame on Art for no signal flow diagram, us geeks like such things!

Dave.
I'm with ya on flow diagrams. They cut to the chase for seeing how stuff works, what you can and can't do in some cases. Not such a biggie for something simple like this, but great for those sometime vague instructions you come across.

I have no idea what any of you are talking about... I just want to record music without much noise and at a listenable volume

I have no idea what any of you are talking about... I just want to record music without much noise and at a listenable volume

Well Jerad, I apologise...Little bit!