Condenser Mike Positioning for Vocals

Barclay

Hey I discovered this forum a few days ago and have been soaking up all the great information. Thanks to everyone for their committment to this great board!

I have a question that I feel kinda stupid for asking, but I just can't seem to figure it out.

I'm new to using condenser mikes, and this week I rented an APEX 450 mike with a tube pre-amp.

http://www.apexelectronics.com/apex450.htm#acc

What I can figure out is how I should position the mike in relation to the singer. In other words, does the mike have a "front" and a "back"? I see these mikes hung, pointing down, and placed pointing upwards and sometimes pointing directly towards the singer's mouth.

Maybe it doesn't matter, but because the internal diaphram seems to have a front and back, it seems like it should.

Any insight?

I have no experience with this particular mic but I'll offer a few things I think are important. First, use a pop filter. Either the hoop type or at least the foam wind sock. I much prefer the hoop type. Also if the vocalist is going to be close, I angle the mic down a few degrees so to further help in avoiding wind blasts and sybalance.

With a tube condeser it should be upright for best sound recordings,....hung upside down is basically the same thing too,..... but dont put it sideways or any other weird positioning,....and i agree with Track Rat about the Pop Filter,.. if you dont have one, GET ONE they really help my recordings, they're cheap $20 bucks at musiciansfriend.com, and like Track rat said, put the mic a little further down to reduce any 'pops' the pop filter dont pick up.
..::Bye::..

Thanks Track Rat and eternalmuzik for the tips -- really helpful.

I bought my first pair of studio monitors today -- my first big audio purchase. I also rented a Zoom MRS-1044 to screw around with .

Cheers!

BB

Good

Barclay said:
Thanks Track Rat and eternalmuzik for the tips -- really helpful.