Computer selection, interface selection, and other advice???

ASG

IM planning on getting a new computer and audio interface soon. My desktop is just getting too old and the tascam us-800 gets on my nerves do to the fact that i cant hear myself playing. Im not really picky about wether to go pc or mac, Just whatever i am convinced will be most effecient for home studio. but ive been hearing some good things about macs, so if you prefer pc what makers are good for recording, and if you prefer macs what are the benefits of them? ALso ive never complained about the idea of a seperate audio interface as opposed to a better soundcard, but what are the pros to having a nice soundcard instead? Also, im relatively new to self recording, so ANY ADVICE you all think a noob like me needs to hear wether it be on equipment selection or not giving up when frustrated, ill be happy to hear it. thanks!

If you know pc's I'd stick with a pc. Just my $.02.

If it was me I'd buy the most stripped down pc I could get. Ge a local pc builder to put together something (or maybe build it yourself) that has the best motherboard, fastest processor and most RAM you can afford. If you're going firewire check the manufacturers website for compatible hardare. some firewire chipsets can be problematic, typically Texas Instruments are fine, again decide on your interface first and check their site for compatible hardware and maybe spend some time in their forums to find out what people have had troubles with.

For an interface how many ins do you need and what sort of budget?

About how costly do you think it would be to have a custom computer done like that? I doubt i'd need more than 4 inputs, but i like these combo jacks, i mainly use keyboards and guitars but my mic uses XLR and my monitors have the option. Ive never used firewire, are their any big pros or cons? and as for budget i dont see myself paying more than $400 for interface, is that not reasonable for one of good quality?