Compressor what do they do?

alibaba

hi I'm new in recording. And I have heard taht for recording vocals and using compressors is good? Can somebody please (very shortly) explai the main function of a compressor. Thanks

Hi

When someone sings, even if they're a good singer, the volume of their voice varies.
The problem is that when they sing quietly, you won't be able to hear it properly in the mix (it will be covered by the other instruments), and when they start sreaming in the mic, the sound is likely to distort.

Basically, a compressor tries to maintain the same output level (volume) whatever the input signal is.

Hope this helps

SM

Now you know how we feel :)

Teach yourself Swedish here: http://www.people.fas.harvard.edu/~arubin/swedish.html http://www-lexikon.nada.kth.se/skolverket/swe-eng.html
and of course here: http://www.santesson.com/enginvek.html

That should keep you away from recording for a while :D

The first one to post a correct translation of the above sentence wins a free dinner at my place at a time that suits me. People who already speak Swedish or who have someone who translates for them are of course disqualified from the contest. Violators will be flogged with a räfsa. The correctness of the translation will be judged by me alone and I cannot be bribed in any way, shape or form, with the exception of expensive recording gear changing owners in a manner that is favorable for me.

/Ola

Hello Ed (sonusman)Rei. I think I beat you to
your plug via the url I posted earlier on this particular thread.BTW, great compression
info! :)

Ola,I'll take you up on your offer! give me
1 hour!.

Hello Ola! I got the translation in record time!

Roughly translated it means
"hello and welcome. You will find a lot of
goodies here!"
HA Ha ha ha ha ha ! :)

[This message has been edited by MISTERQCUE (edited 07-06-2000).]

You're wrong!