Compression: Should I use it during recording or mixing?

soss

I will be recording guitar and bass through amp emulation plug-ins into REAPER. Doing some tests, I think I'm going use some subtle compression (maybe some eq and gating too). Should I do this as I record, or add it in when I remix? Are there advantages/disadvantages for either method?

There are probably some advantages to doing it on the way in....but I can't think of any. :eek:

Especiialy, since you're going to be using simulation, why not wait until you have everything in your computer so that you're not stuck with compression/gating that you can't change if you don't like it.

I'd recommend during mixing. Technically there's nothing wrong with using it on the way in, but if you change your mind later there's not a whole lot you can do about it.

Ok, maybe I should just record using a limiter then. Occasionally I will hit a low note too hard and it distorts. Will a limiter prevent that? I have never used one before. Any recommended settings for bass guitar?

I have this free Antress ModernLimiter plug-in with just four knobs: in/release/range/out. How would I go about setting this?

Any other limiter plug-ins I could try (free or otherwise)?

Ok, maybe I should just record using a limiter then. Occasionally I will hit a low note too hard and it distorts. Will a limiter prevent that? I have never used one before. Any recommended settings for bass guitar?

I have this free Antress ModernLimiter plug-in with just four knobs: in/release/range/out. How would I go about setting this?

Limiter, compressor, whatever. Use whatever tool you think you need. The question wasn't which tool you should use, it was whether you should use them on the way in.