commercial acoustic ceiling tiles as component in bass traps?

ReInventor

I am a commercial electrician. One of my job perks is the ability to pick up unused materials from construction sites. Acoustic ceiling tiles are usually abundant. If one is scratched in the least it is thrown out, so I can get these pretty readily and for free.

My question is can they be used in place of 703 in bass traps? It would take a few more tiles than 703 panels to make the required thicknesses, but should it work? Are the sound absorbing properties of these conducive to this application?

I could treat my entire room for just the cost of fabric and mounting hardware!!! Too good to be true right?

depends

There are some tiles that are compressed fiberglass. I used this material for my bass traps. They are 1" thick and usually have a skin then the yellow fiberglass backing. You can stack these for your 4"
Ryan

True. The yellow compressed fiberglass will work well, but the regular cellulose fiber acoustic tiles have a higher acoustic impedance than the compressed fiberglass and therefore do not have the same absorption coefficient. They will work to some degree.

Here are some comparison NRCs:
Product 125hz 250hz 500hz 1000hz 2000hz 4000hz NRC
Owens/Corning
703, plain, 2" 0.17 0.86 1.14 1.07 1.02 0.98 1.00

Ceiling Tile
Fine Fissured 0.36 0.41 0.65 0.84 0.90 0.88 0.70

True. The yellow compressed fiberglass will work well, but the regular cellulose fiber acoustic tiles have a higher acoustic impedance than the compressed fiberglass and therefore do not have the same absorption coefficient. They will work to some degree.

Ceiling Tile
Fine Fissured 0.36 0.41 0.65 0.84 0.90 0.88 0.70

John,

Is that NRC for the Ceiling Tile, just the generic fiber/mix panels that are 5/8" thick and generally have a NRC rating of .55 or so? The kind you see in most offices? (not fiberglass type)

That's for Armstrong Ceiling Tile - Fine Fissured High NRC. = 0.7