Chromatics

CalebMcC

As i have stated in other posts, i am a guitarist who hasnt played that long and still have alot of issues with even basic theory. i fully understand that alot of music isnt theory and isnt logical and is more emotional, and for a change, would like to focus on both parts. as a guitarist who pretty fully understands and knows the major, minor, harmonic minor and lydian scales, im looking to expand them and develope a more outside sound. ive always admired guitarists who use quick cromatic run offs and thread cromatic notes into scales. two primary examples of what i mean are synyester gates from avenged sevenfold and steve vai. my simple question for this is basically as follows: is there a trick to using chromatic notes in music, or is it altogether a matter of randomness and playing whatever the hell you feel like?? if there is a trick, i would love to know what it is.

If you are asking strictly about chromatic runs, no, there's not a trick, generally you start and end on notes of the scale and just play every note in between. Starting near a semitone interval might set up the run more naturally.

If you are asking about accidentals, that is borrowing 'chromatic' notes from a nearby or distant key, that's a different question.

If you are asking about shred guitar runs, they use chromatics because they are playing so fast that they would cover too much ground if they only used the notes in the scale.

There really is no trick to it, just put the chromatic notes where you need them.

i would say i greatly agree with Victory Pete. anyhow, im glad to hear there isnt much of a trick to it, becuase i had always had some odd suspicion there was, and was worried id have a new concept to try to learn and master. thanks for clarifying.