Cheap ok sound card?

Monkey

Cabin boy
I know this kind of thing gets asked a lot, but until there's a well-indexed FAQ...

I am on a tight budget. I'm looking for a sound card in the $100 range to do multitrack recording. I know that's low but this will go on the credit card and I'm a college student.

I want to use my little Behringer Eurorack mixer and go from the tape out (RCA) into the sound card. I have no need of MIDI, just to record decent wavs from analog signals. I know jack about technical considerations, but I'm hearing that a Sound Blaster will suck and I don't want mouse clicks or unnecessary noise to come through on my recording. I also want something that can do "normal" sound without any problems, i.e. play mp3s and game sound without my needing a seperate card.

It seems like all the sound cards out there are either $800 or made for video games, so I'm getting consternated.

My best bets so far: Turtle Beach Santa Cruz for $79.95, which doesn't seem to have RCA inputs or anything but 1/8 jacks really.
http://www.turtlebeach.com/site/products/santacruz/indetail.asp

Next up is the MAudio Audiophile 2496, which seems to have everything I want and a bit more (MIDI), and goes for $150 at Zzounds.com, which is more than I want to pay but if it's my only option I'll do it. I notice it comes with Cakewalk Express, which might be helpful. I plan on getting some kind of Cakewalk somewhere, got a buddy who might burn it for me...

Am I missing anything here? Price is my priority here but I don't want something that will suck either.:confused:

Monkey said:
I know this kind of thing gets asked a lot, but until there's a well-indexed FAQ...

I am on a tight budget. I'm looking for a sound card in the $100 range to do multitrack recording. I know that's low but this will go on the credit card and I'm a college student.