Cheap monitors for demos?

Monkey

Cabin boy
Hey guys, I could use some advice for recording on a shoestring. :)

I'm looking for a really cheap pair of monitors, suitable for making demo recordings. I do NOT have a real studio, and don't need to do that quality of recording. I am a college student, and my budget is basically $100 plus whatever I can ask for for Christmas from my parents. So let's say $200.

Here's my setup: I have a PC with an Audiophile 2496 sound card, a small analog mixer running tape outs into the sound card to record in Multiquence. I also create some tracks in Fruity Loops. Recently I made a track to use as a performance background, and when it was played on a real system, it was VERY bassy.

My speakers are just standard little powered computer speakers, suitable for listening to tunes but not as monitors, so anything would be a step up. Those speakers are plugged into the regular soundcard that is built into the motherboard, not into the Audiophile.

I emphasize that these need to be CHEAP, not great, but just enough give me some realistic idea of what the EQ sounds like. I don't already have an amp, so keep that in mind.

So... any ideas?

Thanks in advance for your help.

--Nathan

Here you go

Studiophile bx5s i believe are around that range and not too shabby for what you are looking for.

Connectivity and other options

Thanks for the suggestion. I looked up the Studiophile bx5s and they seem to be around the $300 range. That MIGHT be possible. I was looking at them on ProStudio Music, however, and noticed that the inputs are a quarter inch jack and an XLR jack.

My little Behringer mixer (Eurorack MXB1002) has a 1/4" output, but my sound card (Audiophile 2496) only has RCA outputs. Would I be able to hook these up to the sound card somehow? I'm sure I can get a little Radio Shack converter to go from RCA to 1/4", but is that going to sound bad?