Central Air Vent... should I return the Green Glue?

ShortPat

Hi, first post here, couldn't find an answer elsewhere, (sorry if it's a stupid question)

Long story, but basically I'm finishing a basement that my fiance and I are going to move into and I am trying to make one room a little more soundproof than the others so I don't have to worry about bothering my new landlords when I practice/record music.

I ordered enough green glue to treat the ceiling between two layers of sheetrock that will be attached to resilient channels... but just remembered, I need to make a hole for the heating/AC... is this a lost cause?

The vents do not connect to upstairs, the basement is a separate zone. what I'm worried about is if leaving a 10"x10" hole in the ceiling is going to defeat the entire purpose of the green glue, and if so is there a countermeasure?

This is my first time trying any of this, so thank you very much for any response I really appreciate it!

All is not lost. If you have not put up the drywall yet, just box the area between the upper floor and your ceiling and pack it with rockwool or pink insulation, then build a air silencer and attach it to the ceiling, over the vent. Just make sure that if your air vent is a 10 x 10, your opening on the air silencer must be twice that size. You simply have two 10 x 10 outlet vents, something like pictured below. This will keep you from creating back pressure and damaging your air handler. Build the box using your green glue to seal all the corners as well as the maze area.

View attachment 100913