CDR mastering with lead-ins

Stephen Jones

Hi.
I asked this in the Cakewalk section, but no-one knew so I'll try here. I'm new to the CDR-writing software game...
Anyone know how, when writing a CDR, to get/control a lead-in of time (ie - counted backward) before a song starts? Which programs allow you to do this? It would be great to use this feature when including some neat sonic-y stuff before a particular song I'm working on, and I've seen it done before on commercial CDs.
Thanks.
steve
ps - obviously this would apply to any song on a CDR except the first one.

I use both a MAC and PC and have a Lacie CD writer (which has a Yamaha writer inside), on the MAC the supplied software (Toast) support the feature you mention, on PC the software (Easy CD Creator) doesn't, strangely enough. In Toast you can specify a different offset for each track on the CD, if you want - but I don't know if it's available for PC.

I dont know if this is the same thing youre talking about, but whenever I burn a CD track at once on Easy CD Creator the disks always have the little "-0:02" before starting the next song. I don't really like this feature though, because no matter how clean your recording is, (even on some pro CD's) you can always hear a bit of hiss thats normally not noticeable until the little gap of absolute silence comes in, making any noise on the disk painfully obvious. Whereas if you put the gap into the end of a track and burn the CD disk at once you never hear the change. Just my opinion though.

if first you make sure the files you'll burn to CD fade properly to absolute zero - in whatever wave editor you use - you shouldn't have that problem.

Prassi PrimoCD Plus allows you to adjust the pre-gap for each track with great precision. I haven't tried it out yet, though.

Whoopysnorp said:
Prassi PrimoCD Plus allows you to adjust the pre-gap for each track with great precision. I haven't tried it out yet, though.