cd to cdr truncating?

promesis

Black Knights of the 4H.
i am new to pushing digital signals around thru s/pdif while monitoring analog signals. i am experiencing problems with this set-up to "pseudo-master" a pre-recorded CD to another CD:
CD Player S/PDIF Out ---> to
Finalizer Express S/PDIF In /Out ----> to
CD-Recorder S/PDIF In ---x

everything sounds fine while monitoring the pass - but upon listening to the final recorded CD - there are these intermittent quick nulls of silence.. thru my investigation - i believe this is "truncation". diagnosis sound correct so far?

i believe this is happening between the Finalizer and the CD-R. Because, the manual states that "When one of the dither LEDs are lit, [i set it to 16bit for CD] dither noise is applied to the digital outputs. However, the signal is not truncated as the Finalizer Express always outputs 24 bit data." This means (to me) that any truncation must be applied at the receiving device - in this case the Tascam CD-RW700. Which after studying their manual is mute on the subject other than "the digital direct mode bypasses some of the input circuitry (the freq. converter and the digital level control) .." i know that the dig. frequency is correct @ 44.1kHz because it inputs correctly to the receiving device - which would not if there is a frequency mis-match and will alert me to this thru an error message.

my somewhat ignorant analysis is:
i think that the original CD is 16 bit / 44.1kHz ---> then when it hits the Finalizer it gets converted to 24bits ---> then because it states clearly that despite the dither setting (@ 16bit) the unit ALWAYS outputs all 24bits of info --> the Tascam (i am inferring) simply accepts the bit rate sent thru the S/PDIF. Alas .. that funky glitch from the poor little Tascam truncating the signal.

Like i said - i don't know diddly about this.. strictly dealt with pushing the analog signal around. Any suggestions or analysis - am i correct in my theory?