can i record mics via line in without a preamp, using an xlr-1/4" adaptor?

Veej007

i am buying an audio interface that has line ins but no mic in. can i record the signal from a mic by running it through one of those impedance matching xlr-to-1/4" adaptors you can buy at radioshack, or is absolutely necessary for me to buy a mic preamp?

also (just slipping this one in here because i'm sure it's a pretty obvious, ultra-low-level question) if i want to record a guitar part in stereo, do i need to use two mics? i mean, if i'm going straight to the interface, which has 1/4 inputs for left and right, then i presume i'd need to use two mics... but if i end up buying a mixer, can i go mic ==> mic pre of mixer ==> stereo rca onput from mixer ==> stereo rca input of audio interface? that way, one mic would give me stereo... right?

many thanks from an absolute novice with your patience with my ultra-simple questions...

In a word, no.
Impedance is one thing, and level is another. The mic's output is simply too low to be used with a line input.
You can get a small mixer and do exactly what you described, or a deticated pre-amp. An Audio Buddy is a nice dual pre-amp that can be bought for 80$ if my memory serves my correctly.
There these new Behringer mixers that are supposedly better than their previous line of products, that are also dirt cheap (50-60$, for a 2 pre-amps, and 80$ for a 4 pre-amp board I believe).
Go to a music store and compare these options.

Oren

You need a preamp. Get over it. A mixer with at least 2 busses can be used as a dual preamp, but the quality of the pres is pretty weakas a rule. Get an Audiobuddy or better, a DMP-3 and you're good to go, until the bug bites you again. Sure, the wife won't mind if you remortgage the house to buy a Neve console...Richie

Veej007 said:
can i go mic ==> mic pre of mixer ==> stereo rca onput from mixer ==> stereo rca input of audio interface? that way, one mic would give me stereo... right?
No.