Can I Just By-Pass Midi and Use Keyboard?

Sleddog72

Hi there,

hopefully people can help me out. Ok...I'm a songwriter. I write for myself. So my problem is, I know nothing about drums at least in a computer sense. Now, lets say I have Cubase, guitars, Edirol audio interface and a yamaha DX series keyboard. Since I'm a guitarist, I like to lay down my rythmn track first. Then my Bass, Then my vocals. Then, instead of mucking around with MIDI...can I simply just put on the headphones, listen to the track thus far and use my keyboard to make drums and record it on a seperate track... or bass...or strings...or whatever else a good keyboard can do? then, edit them in cubase, mix it down into one track(song) and do some master editing and call it a day?? or do I have to know how to program midi? Basically...summed up...Can i use my keyboard to record drums, bass, strings, and other noise onto seperate tracks along with existing tracks of guitar, vocals....??? does anyone do it this way??? anyone successful this way??? any help, hints??

Sounds like it would work as long as you record your rhythm guitar along to some kind of beat or metronome at the very start (then you wouldn't get into bad timing "build-up"as you add the drums and other instruments later in the process)...

I've never gotten officially into the whole MIDI/softsynth way of doing things (in large part because, though I've read a lot about MIDI and the concept is pretty clear to me, when I actually try to hook things up I usually get frustrated, and I probably don't have the computer power/or, again, knowledge, to do the softsynth thing)