Can Cakewalk make it a 2 horse race?

adam

Spent alot of time with Sonar 2 this weekend, and been using Sonar 1 since last August. I am just so impressed with the program, and Sonar 2 is such a leap forward. Minor emergencies aside, it has really performed greatly for me and just seems so powerful and intuitive.

By day I am a management consultant and I began thinking about the music technology industry and where it is and where it is heading. What advances we have seen in the last 2 years and what seems to lie on the horizon! So my question is this:

In the future, can cakewalk sonar consolidate the market and effectively make it a 2 horse race, with Pro Tools? Is it already?

Mind you, I am not that familiar with Cubase, Vegas and other programs, but it just seems like this is a possiblity. Pro Tools for the mac friendly and those in the "biz" and Sonar for everyone else. (not talking about n-tracks or other programs, though I guess it could move towards a shareware world too)

Both Cakewalk and Avid/Digidesign seem to be agressively trying to gain marketshare.

Cakewalk was unknown in Europe a few years ago and now sonar has its own column in sound on sound and an on line tutorial in another UK recording mag.

They are offering a free trial and money back guarantee.

They seem to really "listen" to customers and seem to be pretty proactive in offering improvements that make a difference. Customer service seems to be pretty good.

They seem to be building a pretty stong plug-in library.

There seems to be alot of value offered for the price.

To me at least, is very intuitive, flexible and close to an all in one solution.

At the same time, pro tools is more and more in the prosumer market, with pro tools free, clinics, and the 001.

Not sure what my point is, but thought it was interesting. I am now a big fan of cakewalk and it would be great (I think) to see them succeed.

Young Man, Cakewalk IS the industry.