Can A Mixer Make Beats?...

ima_newbie

Okay..im Really Really New At This..ive Started Composing Songs But I Only Get My Beats At Soundclick..n I Want To Start Making My Own Beats..n I Was Wundering If A Mixer Can Make Beats..bcuz Im About 2 Get A Mixer Tom..
..also.wat equipment do i need to record my songs..do i just need a mic ?...sorry im really new at this stuff

-wats a soundcard?????

Thanks =]

You're about to get a mixer tomorrow but you don't know what it does? You should probably do a lot of reading in this and other forums about whats needed to make music. A mixer simply receives and sends a signal, some have crappy effects and stuff but you can't make beats with a mixer alone. You need a cheap drum machine that can store songs and start there.

If you can't wait more than 7 minutes for an answer, perhaps recording/making music isn't for you. :rolleyes:

This isn't rocket science, but it's no walk in the park either.

ima_newbie said:
Commmeoonnn U Guys I Really Need Help :(

Man, your way off, who told you a mixer makes beats? You better do some extreme reading before you buy anything. Because when you go to the store and say something like that the guy is going to look at you like you are a total dummy. Then depending on who he is, he will either rip you off or help you.

do the math

You may be on the wrong path.

Mixer - A device for mixing together and modifying sounds from a variety of sources: microphones, tapes, CDs, musical instruments, etc..

You must have a drum machine which is considered etc.. above to feed into the mixer if you would like beats. As for a sound card, most computers these days come with some version of a crude soundcard that has a line-in. This is not the recommended way but will work if you have some form of recording software. Other than that, there is a whole multitude of Firewire and USB internal and external devices that will do a great job.

Good luck...

mr produca on the matter