Cakewalk Pro Audio 9 -- newbie problem with aux effect

Bluesyone

Hi-
Please excuse a perhaps silly question -- I'm naive to this stuff.
Anyhow, I am playing around with a recording I did in Pro Audio 9.
I am trying to route several guitar tracks to the Aux reverb effect. I have the aux send levels set for those tracks (and the green LEDs are lit to send), have adjusted the send/receive levels, and set the aux to "post".
The problem is that when I play back the recording, I do not have any consistency with the aux reverb --- it will perhaps come through on one track. Then, oddly, if I adjust either the return level on the aux, or the send level on the track, I will hear the reverb on that track very briefly, then it switches off.
Am I doing something wrong here?

Thanks!

Also, does anyone recommend any URLs (including from this site) for a Cakewalk complete novice?

Hmmm... it sounds like your computer is struggling to drive a reverb in real time.

What are your system specs?

moskus said:
Hmmm... it sounds like your computer is struggling to drive a reverb in real time.

What are your system specs?

I'm running Win XP home on a Pentium 4 2.2 Ghz with 768MB DDR ram. I had been using a new Extigy (USB) until yesterday -- after reading on here and elsewhere that USB doesn't have the requisite bandwidth. So yesterday I popped in my old Aurreal Vortex card. Then I noticed that latency slider in Pro Audio 9, which I reduced. Now I seem to be able to apply real-time effects to multiple tracks (but not through the Aux). I just tried the reverb on aux for 2 tracks and the same thing happens --- the reverb cuts off, and I have to slightly tweak either the send or return level, and it comes back on for a short bit, then cuts off again.

Would you recommend that I dump the Extigy? I already disconnected it from my system.

Thanks again

Bluesyone said:
Would you recommend that I dump the Extigy? I already disconnected it from my system...