Budget Monitors

Goldilox

I've been using some bookshelf speakers to monitor for a couple years (sold as "DJ monitors & home Karaoke speakers" whatever the hell that means? A guy I was buying a condensor mic off threw them in). So I was looking at getting something better suited to purpose, but I'm somewhat bewildered by the choice.

I'm interested how much I'd need to spend to make the upgrade worthwhile?

Do other forumites have clear ideas on what they prefer at the cheaper end of the market?

Anytime you deal with ears, egos, and marketing you're begging for confusion. I've heard... no pun intended... so much crap over the years... Event are the best, Event suck, KRK are the best, KRK suck... Wharfdale are the best, Wharfdale suck... Adam are the best... you get the idea.

I personally will be purchasing a pair of Yamaha HS80M speakers in the near future unless some other 'new-must-have-incredible-box-with-genuine-rosewood-veneer!!!!!' comes out but in all honesty I can't convince myself it's the best choice. It's a crap shoot. You can demo these things till your blue in the face but there's no assurance that a brand you haven't heard about is twice as good at half the price.

Anytime you deal with ears, egos, and marketing you're begging for confusion. I've heard... no pun intended... so much crap over the years... Event are the best, Event suck, KRK are the best, KRK suck... Wharfdale are the best, Wharfdale suck... Adam are the best... you get the idea.

One of the things I love about talking gear on internet forums is I can always find someone to tell me what I want to hear!

The HS80Ms are probably a bit rich for my blood tbh, although I could stretch to the HS50M. Have you demoed both? I'm guessing the smaller one doesn't have as good a bass response?

That's gonna be the case .... less bottom end. I hear decent things about those though.

However .... what exactly are the bookshelves you now use?