Broken Sticks... All Over The Place

Dani Pace

First off, I'm a guitarist and I do occasionally break a string, but lately it seems that every drummer I jam with goes through sticks like he is stocking up kindling for the winter. I'm just curious, do all drummers go through sticks like they have an endless supply? I don't know if they are using cheap sticks or just playing too hard. I'm looking for an average number from you guys so I will have a basis for suggesting they lighten up, and maybe a recommendation or two for better (tougher) sticks. Thanks in advance for any input.

Thin or cheap sticks combined with back technique breaks the twiggies. I use thin sticks (Zildjian 7A), and I'm not a light drummer. I haven't broken one for years, but they do chip down so I'll replace a pair maybe once a month or so.

I'm with Elton,
I generally don't break them during a performance , but i replace mine about every 3 months because of edge damage.

When I used wood sticks, I bought cheapos and would occasionally break one. Usually they just wear down. I use heavy-ish sticks. Usually 5B or 2B.

I use Aheads now, and although I did manage to break one, I like em way better than wood. Feel better, last longer, and they leave no wood shavings everywhere.

I get wood shaving everywhere because each hit on the snare is a rimshot. The hi-hat also chews away at them. However, I don't break sticks that often because I'm very selective when I pick them out (and I by 12 pair at a time). I always make sure the grain is very straight. If it's not straight I don't want it. Sticks always break at the weakest spot, so if the grain is diagonal across the shaft it will certainly break and the stick will have a short lifespan.

I know a drummer who uses thin sticks in live shows so they will break, just for theatrics.