Breaking Plateaus

maxabillion

Ok here's one:

So I've been playing guitar for ten years. In the last two or three especially, I've made it my duty to improve my musicianship, playing ability, songwriting, singing, etc by any means necessary. For the last (woefully unemployed) nine or so months, I've played my instrument for 4-10 (usually 6 haha) hours a day, everyday (I'm a very driven burnout). As with anything, there are periods of somewhat rapid improvement, followed by grueling stretches of not much at all. Sure, my playing gets a touch more polished, or my fingers a hair stronger or faster, but nothing really groundbreaking during those 'between' times.

So here's the question, or what I will turn into a topic of discussion:

How do you break plateaus of playing your instrument?

One of the best things I did for my guitar playing was learning how to play piano. I can now clearly separate harmony in my head (usually) and it has helped with my songwriting (and more intricate singing-while-playing), which has dramatically changed the way I think of the guitar as a piece of a whole. Also, learning jazz really opened up my eyes as to the possibilities of chords, melodies, rhythms, etc. (Mind you, I am still quite an amateur at both piano, and jazz).

But now I find myself in a lull. I still play many hours a day (and night) but my playing has been on this most recent plateau for quite some time. I know it is a process that takes time, but I would love to hear of any of your journeys, advice, techniques, practice regimens, or thoughts on what every musician should know and do to continually push the boundary of what is presently possible.

I find that when I hit one of those "I'm not getting anywhere" plateaus a couple of things help me.

First (and easiest) put the guitar down and walk away for a few days and allow myself to be interested in something else for a while