Bob Dylan - You're a Big Girl Now (my version acoustic live)

Klof

Hey,
So I'm pretty new to recording and I'm trying some different aproachs to get the sound.

I used one condenser (IRig) in the middle, for both vocals and guitar.
Recorded in the bathroom.
No reverb just compressor.

What do you think? What could get better? I've tried some different aproachs using just one mic (different positions etc) and this is the best I've got so far

I don't know much about recording so any tips would be great!

thx!

Attachments

• You're a big girl now mix3.mp3
    3.3 MB · Views: 16
:guitar:

The sincerity and fun of music comes across and that's a good thing. You need to tame that high vocal note. It stands out in a negative way. The bathroom has given you a lo-fi+warbly/reverby sound. I personally dig it, but I doubt most would. What are your influences, besides Dylan? Were you aiming for a lo-fi sound?

I kind of love stuff like this...where people are just f'in around and having fun. I'm addicted to watching youtube covers just like this one. :guitar:

Why are you recording in the bathroom? For reverb? If you are intent on that maybe dampen the bathroom so you don't get those harsh reflections. Maybe record the guitar in a different room. Also, maybe invest in an omni mic if you're going to use just 1 mic.

I'm learning how to record as well, so take this all with a grain of salt. :guitar:

:guitar:

The sincerity and fun of music comes across and that's a good thing. You need to tame that high vocal note. It stands out in a negative way. The bathroom has given you a lo-fi+warbly/reverby sound. I personally dig it, but I doubt most would. What are your influences, besides Dylan? Were you aiming for a lo-fi sound?

I kind of love stuff like this...where people are just f'in around and having fun. I'm addicted to watching youtube covers just like this one. :guitar: