Blue Snowball USB mic problem

Griefo

I just bought one of these and it seems to have installed fine, but I can't hear anything out of it in my headphones. In the sound mixer when I select it, the playback option is greyed out and the only selectable option is Recording. It records fine, but I can't hear it while I am playing. Is anyone familiar with this problem? I can't find anything about it. This is my first time trying a USB mic.

I'm using XP, with a pretty cheap PCI sound card.. A StarTech 4 Channel PCI Sound Card with AC97 3D Audio Effects ..I had to replace the onboard audio after my headphone jack broke off in it.

I guess I'm a little confused then. How are you supposed to check line levels and positioning, etc. if you can't hear it? Are you just supposed to press record and hope for the best?

Is there another piece of equipment I need? I'm so frustrated.. I've been trying to get this thing to work for a week.

Not that familiar with the snowball but if it doesn't have a headphone out on the microphone like the Yeti microphone does your not going to be able to hear as you record.

I would think you could select your sound card as the output device.

The problem is that the data has to go through the a bunch of stuff in the computer to make that round trip, and that takes time. So what you hear back from the mic will be a bit behind your actual playing. How much depends on a number of factors, some of which can be adjusted. It could be anything from barely noticeable to way too much to deal with.

This is why a proper audio interface is the usual recommendation around here. There are some USB mics out now with headphone outputs and low latency direct monitoring, but consider what you might want to be able to do in the future. Besides minimizing latency a decent audio interface will work with almost any mic you buy or borrow or rent, and most will let you use two or more at once.