Blinded needs mix feedback

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mister M

Musician and School Teach
This is my first attempt at a collaboration like this. After playing with some of the same guys for the last 15+ years, I thought it would be nice to NOT play with them on something-so I enlisted help from others and recorded this song.

I played acoustic guitar and did most of the vocals and then farmed the rest out-convinced some musician friends from around the continent into recording different parts.

The first mix is up and it would enjoy some feedback.

Pretty good! I felt like I wanted to hear the chorus "explode" more. That's probably not the best adjective to describe it, but I guess I wanted it to be stronger mix-wise. The chorus was a little bit messy, so tightening up some of the tracks (even if that means re-recording them) would probably help. You could also push the rhythm guitars a little more to give it a stronger feel.

I also noticed the drums drift slightly out-of-time in the intro. What DAW are you working in? Could you FlexTime that?

Really great for a first mix! Good job!

I like your singing voice.

The first thing that struck me were the busy drums. They attract too much attention and they seem to throw off the other instruments - setting up a "stutter step" every so often.

The distorted guitar in the chorus has a bit too much gain on it. It's kind of a wash of fuzz.

I didn't care for the acoustic guitar sound. It was a good part, but it had that buzzy DI'd sound to it.

Thanks for the comments, guys.

I've heard a couple comments on another forum about the chorus needing more oomph...something I'll definitely tweak.

Sadly, I don't have Flex-time -I know the part of the intro to which you are referring-was hoping it was all in my head-I've contemplated taking the drums out until the vocal starts to "cover" the problem-because of how this song was put together, getting the drummer back isn't really feasible.