Bias question

Hi all,

I have a question about record bias. I have tried reading about it and I guess I’m having a bit of a hard time grasping how it’s adjusted. Please bear in mind I’m new to all of this.

From what I’ve read and understand, record bias on a tape deck is not an exact thing? It seems like there is some wiggle room to get it into spec. But I may be wrong here. I guess that’s my main confusion.

I have a Tascam 22-2 recently set up by a knowledgeable tech. I have no doubts he did a good job. Still I’m noticing a slight bump in the high frequencies and the low frequencies are just slightly lacking.

I initially thought maybe the eq adjustments were a little off. But then reading about the bias I’m beginning to wonder if it’s just slightly under biased.

Sorry if I’m not explaining this the best. But hopefully someone will see what I’m saying and can offer some insight.

Thanks

When doing record calibration on a machine with adjustable HF EQ, there’s an interrelation between record level, bias, and EQ. It’s almost always best to follow the procedure as laid out in the manual. It’ll usually say if you have to adjust the record EQ to go back and re-check the record level, bias, and then check overall response again. Basically rinse and repeat until you have things dialed in.

Changes to the EQ can effect level.