Best Soft Synth

hollywoodending

I'm a veteran at programming, but usually I only stick to making beats and nothing more. However, lately I've been wanting to add more sounds into my beats to make complete tracks. So far I've used a lot of the softsynths found native in cubase and reason, but I want to take the next step and actually buy a good 3rd party vst softsynth. So, my question to you guys is where should I start? What is a good all-around synth that is very high quality? I'm basically looking for a solid synth that I could use for years. thanks.

Pretty much anything from Native Instruments. I really love FM7. You would have never guessed a Yamaha FM synth could have made these types of sounds.

Arturia has some excellent sounding softsynths (CS-80V, Prophet V, Moog Modular V, Arp 2600V) which emulate some synth classics.

I recently purchased Korg's Legacy Collection - Digital Edition which emulates the original M1 and Wavestation, but with some added bonuses. You now get much more polyphony (up to 256 voices) and added features such as resonant filters which breathe new life into these synths. You also get every expansion card Korg ever released for both synths (including all T1/M1EX waveforms). The original KLC also does a good job re-creating the Korg MS-20 and PolySix as well as allowing you to combine the two into M1 style Combinations for some really fat sounds.

yeah, the korg legacy collection seemed worth looking at. I was also interested in the gmedia minimonsta or the m-tron, what do you think of those?

If I bought the legacy collection, do you think that would suffice for an all-around synth that I could use on various genres... I'm looking to produce both rock, hip hop, and electronica with this. Thanks.