Best Simple Drum Mic setup

UnityRecordings

Hey all I recently just started getting into all out recording.

My main concern at this time is drums (everything else will come later!)

I kit I have is a tama rockstar i believe (mind you i'm a guitarist at heart) and I'm using a Nady DMK-7 7 mic package with a mic on everything except on the snare i just use a pg57 on the bottom of the snare. also at this point i'm looking into getting a better recording interface so as to make every drum an individual track versus running everything to a mixer then a toneport ux1 :)

ANYWAY

My main question is really what would the difference be between 4 mics versus the 7? I've listened to some samples on here and noticed really no difference What do you all suggest as far as what mics, where to put them, etc?

keep in mind money is limited here to my good pal ebay will be with me all the way!!

There are varying opinions, and it depends on the type of music...But I've yet to hear anyone post a drum clip which was done with lots of mics that sounds any better than what can be done with 4 mics.

Look up the "RECORDERMAN" or "GLYN JOHNS" method for micing drums. They both use 3 or 4 mics (2 overheads, snare, and kik), and many people swear by them, myself included.

There have been some nice drum recordings here using a pair of Naiants as overheads. Those would be very easy on your budget.

so pretty much it would be safe to assume that a decent sound could come from two Naiants, a sm57 on snare, and lets say a beta 52a on kick?

so pretty much it would be safe to assume that a decent sound could come from two Naiants, a sm57 on snare, and lets say a beta 52a on kick?

a caveat on the naiants--they're only available in omni (since i last checked anyway). if you're recording in a reflective or boxy, untreated room, the room sound in the omnis will sound unpleasant. cardioids are best in a bad room.

the beta and 57 should do you fine though, regardless (they're both cardioids anyway).