Behringer ECM8000 vs Behringer C-3 - first post so please be kind!

Cieran

Hey all,

Been a member here for a few days now and have had a good look around the forums and stickies - it seems like an excellent resource and everyone seems really friendly. Finally built up the courage to ask a question so here goes.....

I'm a relative beginner at home recording but I own a couple of mics and I have a reasonable grip on the difference in types/ patterns etc... So far I own a Samson G-Track large condensor usb mic and a pretty cheap dynamic unidirectional one. I am now looking to get another mic mainly for recording acoustic guitar/ other instrumentation and have narrowed it down to the following 2 options:

1. Behringer ECM8000 omnidirectional electret condenser - read some excellent feedback on this forum about them, or....
2. Behringer C-3 16mm large dual-diaphragm multi pattern (cardiod, omnidirectional, figure 8) condenser - also read some good reviews on the web about these.

Both of these are pretty much the same price here in the UK - only £2-3 difference, so I am after the best quality one out of the two. Alternatively if I can stretch my money by £20 I can afford to get a Samson C03 which has the same features as the Behringer C-3 but with a 19mm large condenser.

Any help, advice, suggestions or feeback is welcome!

Thanks

I wouldn't choose the ECM8000. It's a fine mic for a lot of things, but it's omni. And a bit noisy for quieter sources.

I'd get a cardio such as the C3.

But there are a lot of other possibilities too. Even a CAD GXL1200 is only 50 $ at Amazon these days. Or a T.bone EM700 pair is also a good choice and only 48 ?.

I would not choose the ecm8000 either.
It is the only microphone I have ever returned. (I bought 2)
they were noisey