Beginning guitar lessons

coplinger

I recently agreed to give guitar lessons to the 15 year old daughter of a friend. Being that I don't read music and have never taken a guitar lesson, let alone taught one, what do you think the fundemental things a beginner should learn first are? I'm figuring on starting with how to tune the guitar, then some basic chords and scales. From there, I think I'll tailor it towards the specific songs/type of songs she wants to learn & let her guide the direction the lessons take. Its been so long since I was a beginner, I don't really remember in what order I learned things. Anyone have any advice? Those of you who have taken lessons at that age: what did you like about them? What did you hate about them?

One thing that will keep her interested is to work on songs she already knows and likes. Find the easiest songs by her favorite bands. That will give a sense of accomplishment early on and demystify things a bit.

Of course a few basic chords are necessary first.

Have fun!

One thing that will keep her interested is to work on songs she already knows and likes. Find the easiest songs by her favorite bands. That will give a sense of accomplishment early on and demystify things a bit. Of course a few basic chords are necessary
first. Have fun!

I would suggest at least one good finger exercise that will build finger strength as well as coordination. My favorite little warm-up exercise is starting at the first fret, top string, and do hammer-ons with each finger (first fret: index finger, second fret: middle finger, etc. ) down the six strings. Then move to the second fret and repeat. Do this to the twelth fret. I hope that makes sense. I'd tab it out but the font on this board always makes tab messy.