Be Brutal :-)

Markd102

Finally worked out how to do a simple web page :p so I thought I'd stick up an MP3 for you guys to listen to.

A couple of notes on the track.......

I'm not playing on the track and It's not my song, so I'm after comments about the engineering, not the playing etc.

You'll notice that it's very full and busy. This is intentional as the song is about the growing problem of youth suicide in our district. The object of the exercise was to portray the tension and confusion that mush be going on in the mind of a potential suiced victim.

The last point is just a bit of a gloat ;) for me.... the bass and violin parts are played by John Rees, Bassist from the great Australian band "Men At Work".

Hope you enjoy it.

Mark

Watershed Recording Studio

Well I liked the song-I'm no expert but that sounded like alooooot of reverb on the snare. The bass guitar wasnt to audible through my headphones either. Other than that it was very listenable. If I was tracking that violin, I probably would have used it only when there was no singing-like at the end of lines etc. But you say you were going for a full effect so I think you got it! Nice job overall!

I liked the mix overall. I really like your guitar sound, and the violin is really sweet.

I think the reverb on the snare is outdated. The kick is not present enough and I can hardly hear a bass .

Other than that, the mix is nice. Did you boost the highs on the vox? Maybe try a narrower Q.

quite a good mix though, I like it. And since the song is good, no one other than the band members and the mixing engineer would be paying attention to the mix.

Funk on!

This has a nice listenable quality to it.The Violins are compteing with the whole song from begining to end.( I guess you couldnt help but bring it up in the whole mix since Rees played the part eh?:D)