battery life in active basses

Toki987

Rock Steady
I`ve been using active basses for quite a few years now. Changing the battery was something I did on a very infrequent basis because they lasted such a long time.
I've been using a Fender active bass for a couple of years now and it seems as if the battery lasts only a couple of months before the bass starts getting a weak gritty sound which is only corrrected by putting in a new battery. I play 2 to 3 times a week every week now which is more than I was doing a couple of years ago so I`m sure this is a factor in it as well. However, it is aggrevating to have to put a $3 battery in every couple of months. 'anybody else dealing with this?

I`v been pondering a method of making a shielded cable with lines for delivering dc current from a power supply and lines for the instrument signal, having 2 connectors at each end with a dc plug-in on the control surface of the bass to power the preamp.

I wonder if Harvey has ever thought of this, and how would he do it?

Last edited:
For someone playing every day, they usually will last about six months. But if something is wrong, then they usually only last a few minutes, or maybe a few days at most.

But I mean, come on, it's three bucks (less if you buy a big bulk pack of batteries and keep them in your fridge). How cheap can you be? If it was every day, then sure, that is a problem, but every few months? How often do you have to change the batteries in your stomp boxes? Or your TV remote? Or your wireless mouse?

Light

"Cowards can never be moral."
M.K. Gandhi

I bought a 9v adapter from The Sound Professionals, solder on a connector from radio shack, and attach the adapters 9x battery cap to the 9v battery cap inside the bass. The adapter is flat line 9v and is completely quiet. Dont use a radio shack adapter or you'll get window rattling hum and buzz.