Bass tips for guitarists

ReInventor

I am primarily a guitarist, but play several instruments well. I've always tried to approach each new instrument looking through the eyes of someone who plays that instrument exclusively (albeit, with the added perspective that comes from playing others). When I play bass, I try to think like a bassist - holding down the bottom, locking with the kick, not playing a big guitar solo, etc...

I am becoming aware of more subtle differences between bass and guitar however, and realize that my technique and feel may be lacking more so that I thought. For instance - I know that bass notes take longer to develop in time because of the longer wave length and have recently read that it is sometimes best to play slightly ahead of the beat because of this. Also, because of the high energy of bass sounds, it is usually preferable to play with a lighter touch...right?

Can you real bassists out there share some tips with the rest of us wannabe's? Many of us here are songwriters and produce our own music from start to finish and this means playing bass. What can you tell us to make us more competent bass players?

Thanks so much for the insight.

"I know that bass notes take longer to develop in time because of the longer wave length and have recently read that it is sometimes best to play slightly ahead of the beat because of this. Also, because of the high energy of bass sounds, it is usually preferable to play with a lighter touch...right?"

i'm a bassist of 10 years and i've never heard of these. lol

if you're talking about songwriting, shake it up a bit. create walking basslines, as they're always the most fun. you can simply walk within a scale if you wish...walk from scale to scale.

sometimes playing with a pick records better (i was always 100% anti-pick, but as of recently i've really seen how much better it mixes in than finger style since i don't use a compressor when i play)