Bass sequencing

jay clarke

Hello

I am a guitarist and I wish to program or sequence a bass acompaniment to various stuff ive written. I have programmed the drums perfectly using acoustica beatcraft and they sound fab.

And i was wondering is there anyway of sequencing convincing rock bass?

I have cubase but don't have or want to use a midi keyboard, is there a way i can program bass that sounds good for rock music in a method other then midi?

and if not are there any midi sequencers that are ideal for the job of programming bass?

what sequencer should i use with cubase to program bass tracks?

I dont have a bass or bass amp cos im a guitarist, but once again any ideas anyone has about replicating bass as I have done with drums to go as backing for recorded guitar will be very welcome!

Cheers

Jay

Hi. Answers are withing the quote.

jay clarke said:
Hello

I am a guitarist and I wish to program or sequence a bass acompaniment to various stuff ive written. I have programmed the drums perfectly using acoustica beatcraft and they sound fab.

And i was wondering is there anyway of sequencing convincing rock bass?
- Yes it's possible. But rock does not lend itself for "easy" programmed basslines like for instance, dance does.

I have cubase but don't have or want to use a midi keyboard, is there a way i can program bass that sounds good for rock music in a method other then midi?
- No. Sequencing is midi. However, that does not mean that you need an input device like a midi keyboard. You can input the midi information using the sequencer, but it's a LOT more work. More on that later.

and if not are there any midi sequencers that are ideal for the job of programming bass?
- I don't think there are any sequencers made especially for programming bass.

what sequencer should i use with cubase to program bass tracks?
- Cubase is a sequencer. Your question is a bit like "which tool should I use with this hammer to nail this door shut? Cubase is the tool itself.