bass compression

dolecek1

I'm usinf cool edit pro with waves platnum bundle( which i have little experience with) but im tryin to find the best way to compress bass guitar so the levels are perfect any tips or suggestions? thanks

The Bass is for sure a unique instrument when talking about sound reinforcing or mixing. It can produce sounds as low as 40 Hz and as high as 1000 Hz and above. So, here come physics to give us some nightmares:

Low frequency sounds need more amplitude to be noticed than high frequency sounds. Another problem is that almost all speakers cannot handle frequencies below 20 Hz. And o lot of them crumbles when playing something below 80Hz. And this is very important as most of the people who will listen to your record have cheap and regular stereo systems.

So, basically what you need to do is to equalize the different frequencies of a bass recording to have an "equal" volume for the whole spectrum. And, of course, make a dropping curve of amplitude for the frequencies 80 Hz to 0 Hz. (PS: This is not a rule. You might want to try some equalization sets to see if 80 is really the point. It can be greater or lower.). Just keep the physics in mind.

After equalized, you have to deal with the fingers of the performer. He/she can hit the strings harder or softer on different parts of the music. For this you use the compressor. But please, don't kill the performance. For some rock/pop songs I'd say 3:1 is just enough. Leave some room for the performer to express him/her self.

Applying the compression before or after the equalization will produce different and acceptable results. Try them out.

Last tip: Spend sometime trying different configurations. "It's impossible to tell how snow feels until you grab some with you own hands".