Basic mix settings for drums

yesdog

I am new to recording and would like to know basic settings on the channel strips for drums. I am using a Behringer xenyx 1222fx.
channel 1 overhead
channel 2 overhead
channel 3 kick 22 inch
channel 4 snare
channel 5 T1 8inch
channel 6 T2 10 inch
channel 7 T3 12 inch
channel 8 16 inch floor tom

My kit is a yamaha recording custom. I am also using a macbook with Digital performer6. For now I can only record the whole kit on one track. I will be getting an 8x8 usb interface. M Audio fast track ( I am on a tight budget )
But for now just a basic explanation on setting the high mid and low on the channel strip. once I get my new interface that will be a whole new can of worms. Is there a way to upload mp3s I tried to attach but you can only upload pictures. Thanks Scott

The basic setting would be to bring the preamp gain up until your individual inputs are hitting around -12dBFS with everything else bypassed or at unity.

I always run the eq (if that's what you're talking about) flat and only use it if something calls for it.

But almost always I don't need to eq. Just use your ear, but start flat and try to record so you can leave it that way. Flat is what gives you the best sound is what I've found, so I aim for that.

Assuming you need eq is like someone handing you a meal and you adding tons of salt and pepper before you even taste it. So try it flat (usually straight up in the detents) and if your ear doesn't tell you to do anything, leave it there.

The basic setting would be to bring the preamp gain up until your individual inputs are hitting around -12dBFS with everything else bypassed or at unity.

Yup. That is the only setting that makes sense.