Basic audio recording software for Tascam US 224

Razor1548

Hello people,

I am rather new to this recording business, and would like some advice on the best software to use with my Tascam US224. I would have posted this in the Tascam forum, but my question isn’t really manufacturer specific

Here is my situation:

I like using the cut down version of Cubasis that came with the 224, but would prefer to record 24bit sound. Other than that the software seems to do all I need it to, as I only want to record audio from direct guitars and microphones and don’t foresee any need to use midi tracks or even do much in the way of editing audio tracks.

In addition to that cut down and rather basic software I have played with Reason 2, Cakewalk (v 9 I believe), Cubase SX and Vegas Audio. All of these seem to have lots of functionality I don’t expect to need anytime soon, and I fear the time it would take me to get to grips with them would be something of a waste considering my limited needs. In addition, I like the way the cut down Cubasis interacts very well with the 224’s control surface (I know this really just saves me from using the mouse click, but find it infinitely easier to press a play button before playing my piece rather than manipulating a mouse). The only other software I have been able to get to respond at all to the 224’s controls is Reason 2, but I know I just don’t need all that functionality (besides, I couldn’t even find the ‘audio in’ features in Reason 2… it’s all a bit too complex for a novice I think).

I suppose I would be contented with the cut down Cubasis if it was only 24bit quality. Can anyone advise me on software to give me the best of simplicity, audio quality and hopefully, compatibility with the Tascam US 224 control surface?