Base for a beat - complete newb. Feedback please!

You did that in 30 - 45 mins on your first beat and no offense homie but it shows. I could give you a LOT of pointers to help you get alot farther in Reason (and possibly a LOT faster than it takes people usually) since it does have a HUGE learning curve but once you get past it, you'll find it's an AMAZING piece of software.

Alright, how do you think I should go about learning how to use Reason at its fullest potential? What are some pointers?

Tip #1: Make your sounds fatter and have more presence with a little EQing, reverb, compression, and delay.

Tip #2: If you experiment and find sounds that would work on the same melody, layer them and mix them (really good if one sound has higher treble or mid and another has bass)

Tip #3: Invest in a solid set of soundfonts and refills. You can find a LOT of them for free if you look in the right places. I'm making a beat with only the Reason factory refills just to show it can be done but I really don't EVER use stock sounds.

Tip #4: Listen to a LOT of the types of beats you like and study them. Use it as a starting point and try to add your own stuff into it.

When I make this beat off just Reason's stock refills, I'll see about posting the file. It could probably help some people just getting started on how to work more with Reason.

Thank you very much! Should i do #1 to all my sounds? And sorry, like i said, im a complete newb, what are soundfonts and refills?

I wouldn't say do them to all your sounds....but it'll take some time for your ears to get adjusted to making beats. If you're mixing on regular speakers, they will confuse the hell out of you because speakers color up sound all the time.

soundfont = a sound file that's used in a lot of different programs and plugins but in Reason it's mainly used in NN-XT

refill = aound file only used in Reason. In which instrument depends on what's inside of the refill.