average hourly rates?

jho1986

I have been recording for a couple of years (almost only my own bands), am in the process of getting a recording degree, and ive been building up a portable studio for recording demos. I have gotten a couple of offers to record some local bands, but i really dont know what i should charge because i have yet to charge anyone. I know there is a lot behind what the rates end up being, but i was just hoping you guys could share what and how you charge people...

thanks for any responses!!!

I am pretty new to all this as well...and what I tell people is,,,it totally depends from project to project. Also, being new, when the recording will count (for lack of better words) I also have a Pro Engineer friend of mine who comes in and basically runs the show if the client is paying decent money. That has to be factored in as well. I still feel that I am learning so I wouldnt feel right charging a Commercial Studio fee or an experienced engineers fee for a possible half assed final product.

But to answer your question, I go with Price being based on the project and its involvement. (I even have done offers like "a $200.00 on the fly weekend deal" for band demos, but that didnt include seperate tracking....it was all basically a one shot deal, the whole band plays together (with all the bleed of all the open mics..etc and very little in the mixdown process. lol It actually worked fairly well for some of the bands and gave me more hands on.)

I guess its all in what what your after, and what you can present to them as a final product. Also whats your overhead, how invested you are, and what you need to pay the bills. I am not starting out greedy, and I'd rather learn and gain experience first partly on my dime. ;)