Audio Interface 1/4" TRS Inputs- Are they stereo?

EastCoaster

I'm a total newb shopping for a simple first USB audio interface. I'm focused on the common basic 2-channel ones like Focusrite 2i2, M-Audio M-Track, etc.

I think I understand that directly plugging in a guitar or one microphone will provide a one-track mono signal for recording. However, I also have a nice consumer-grade electronic keyboard that outputs through a 1/4" plug that I am almost certain must be a stereo signal... at least I can say that the keyboard clearly plays in 2-channel stereo when I listen to its built-in speakers. Also, I might want to record from another definitely stereo source such as a CD / MP3 player.

Can anyone tell me if the 1/4" inputs on these interfaces will correctly handle a stereo input and then output a stereo signal to my DAW (Reaper)?

Thanks

In most cases 1/4" inputs will be mono. TRS connectors are usually used to accept a balanced signal rather than two channels. To get stereo you would use both 1/4" inputs. If your source has a single stereo 1/4" output you would need a splitter cable to get from a stereo connector to a pair of mono connectors. An "insert" cable has the correct wiring for this.

+1 to that.
People often associate TRS with stereo because the most common use of TRS is in unbalanced stereo headphone connectors.

TRS line level connectors are usually mono and carry the same signal on tip and ring, but with opposite polarity.
This means that any noise/interference picked up along the way can be cancelled at the destination.

If you have to use a splitter as described it'll split TRS stereo unbalanced to 2xTS mono unbalanced, which may result in noise/interference issues.

...However, I also have a nice consumer-grade electronic keyboard that outputs through a 1/4" plug that I am almost certain must be a stereo signal... at least I can say that the keyboard clearly plays in 2-channel stereo when I listen to its built-in speakers.