Audacity questions

Sam Page

Howdy folks, this is my first post!

Ok, here goes. I've got a bunch of songs that I want to record (and eventually sell). Some songs only involve an acoustic guitar and vocals, so I'll start with those. I am intrigued about recording on my home PC and distributing the music digitally. I have no recording experience so I want to start simple.

Now for some questions. First, is Audacity a good option for me? Second, are there any problems copyrighting songs produced on Audacity?

I think you would be much happier eventually using Reaper, so you might as well start using it now. Audacity is simple but, IMO, has too many annoyances and Reaper is far more powerful stuff. You can hold on to audacity to use as an external editor because Reaper has limitations in this respect.

Your questions were: "First, is Audacity a good option for me? Second, are there any problems copyrighting songs produced on Audacity?"

Yes. Audacity is a good option. It is relatively straightforward to use, and the learning curve is not as stepp as some other programs.

But, as Nave says, there are more powerful, more versatile programs around, of which Reaper is a particularly good example.

I am not sure what you are asking when you talk about copyright and audacity.

Copyright automatically accrues* to the creator of an original piece on its creation. For the legal system to know that a work has been created and to recognise your ownership of it, you need to register that work. For example, in Australia you would register with APRA.

Copyright is independent of the program (e.g. Audacity) that you use to create the work. Perhpas you could explain your specific copyright concern.

* There are exceptions to this, but they are the least of your worries at this stage.

All you ever wanted to know about copyrights. Whether you're in the US or any other country that has signed treaties, etc...

www.copyright.gov