At4040?

tremblayj

I am currently paying off my guitar right now but that will soon be done so I am on the hunt for my first condenser. Right now I am just learning the basics on a dynamic mic(cheap) to a behringer board(does the job) and into a delta 44. Right now I am only interested in guitar, mostly acoustic, and vocals. I record bass direct. I was searching and after reading many, many threads I decided on the spB1. This all seemed good until I bought a nice guitar and thought why not spend some extra as it will do me good in the long run. I looked around and one that interested me was the at4033. I soon noticed that there weren’t many available then I saw the AT4040. I read most of the threads about it and it seems like a good choice. What do you think? is this a good mic for acoustic and vocals. I will also be getting a new pre soon, thinkin maybe the dmp-3. any suggestions welcomed with anticipation.

I use a 4040 about 18" from the soundhole and angle it to kill some of the boominess and it sounds exquisite. I sometime mic the 12th fret with a Rode nt3 and the combination is killer. (I never hear much about the NT3...too bad)

any other suggestions for a better first condenser for my situation? I was also wondering what type of sound this one has. maybe a short vocla/guitar clip if anybody has one?

I recommend the 4040. It's very honest. Good investment. The more I use it the better I like it.

ch2os7 said:
I recommend the 4040. It's very honest. Good investment. The more I use it the better I like it.

On vox, the fact that the 4040 is an honest mic can be good and bad. The 4040 was my first condensor and I loved it on my acoustic but couldn't stand to here my own voice through it. (a little too honest I suppose :eek:)