Are Mackie monitors good for producing HipHop tracks?

kts2001

Do any of you guys use Mackie monitors to produce HipHop or Techno/ Trance tracks? I have the cash to buy the HR-824's or HR-624's for my studio setup, are these monitors good for producing hiphop tracks?

Peace.

Ringo

man

i have the hr824's right now, i'm just starting out, so we may be in the same boat. but the mackies translate pretty good to my newbie ears, it's what to do with these translations that have me in a corner right now. i hope someone comes along and give you an answer, i really just stopped by to let you know that you are not alone.

Thanks for the reply jugalo180

I've heard alot of good things about the Mackie 824's but, do anyone here have the 624's? I'm still not sure which one to buy :confused: , I have a small home studio and think the 824's may be to large for my room, I could be wrong. I have the Event PS5's, when producing the drums and bass tracks it's hard to hear the bass and EQ the kick drum low end, I believe the PS5's are good for mixing vocals. I know there are other monitors out there besides Mackie but I want a pro monitor system now. I feel it's always better to buy the best gear rather than using cheap gear, then spending more cash later when you find out that your gear sucks.

I was watching a tv show about HipHop music the other night and I notice in every hiphop studio they were showing was a pairs Mackie 824's.

Thanks again jugalo180

Peace

Ringo

yo,

i asked a similar question before i bought the mackies, i got some decent reply's. i don't think that the type of music is important when it comes to any type of monitor because it's a flat response speaker, but i know where you are coming from with the question, most hip hop has a lot of bass heavy material in it, especially where i'm from. i'm just starting out just like you so take what i said very lightly, but i hope this link do you a little justice as it did for me.